Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My blogger friend, Emma of Miss Apis Mellifera (if you’re fond of bees, you should check out her lovely site!), has just informed me of very exciting news indeed, the naming of a new Euglossine bee!

Now, if you’ve been here for a while, I’m sure you’re familiar with my obsession with bees.  But if you’re new here, take a moment to visit my posts on the less than humble bee, the orchid bee.  Orchid bees (or Euglossines), are the fabulous sparkling gems of the insect world and, even better, they are aromatherapists.  The males collect a cocktail of odours in order to attract females.

I got a chance to see them myself in Costa Rica, and I took some photos of the beauties (this is one of my most popular posts).

In any case, the new species has been named Euglossa bazinga, after one of the catch phrases of a popular television character.  You may know him.

Here’s the article on the bee and its new name: http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/smartnews/2012/12/a-brand-new-bee-was-just-named-after-sheldon-from-the-big-bang-theory

Euglossine bee!

Euglossine bee!

