Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t own a telephoto lens (although I borrowed one for an earlier post), so my bird photos are always subpar, but I get lucky sometimes anyway!  Here are my best attempts at birds in the Grand Canyon, AZ.

IMG_4490

I love nuthatches. They are the only birds that can go down trees! This is just the familiar White breasted nuthatch (Sitta carolinensis) (which has a very broad range), but they seem a bit larger out west.

IMG_4512

Female Western Bluebird (Sialia mexicana). The males are a brilliant blue, but I didn’t manage to catch a photo of one.  She is still pretty.

IMG_4524

Mountain Chickadees (Poecile gambeli) were very common on the rim. Not quite as cute as the black-capped in my humble opinion, but definitely with a chickadee-dee-dee aura!

IMG_4849

Ravens (Corvus corax) rule the Grand Canyon.

IMG_4955

More nuthatches!

IMG_5041

A gang of Brewer’s Blackbirds (Euphagus cyanocephalus)

IMG_5044

I’m not sure, but I think this is also a Brewer’s Blackbird.

IMG_5491

Western Scrub Jays (Aphelocoma californica) were quite common in the canyon, but still beautiful.

IMG_5497

in flight

Remember, they are not *actually* blue!

Remember, they are not *actually* blue!

Levitating Pinyon Jay

Levitating

Pinyon Jay *shrug*

*shrug*

Blurry, but recognizable, pygmy nuthatch (Sitta pygmaea)

Blurry, but recognizable, pygmy nuthatch (Sitta pygmaea)

Rufous crowned sparrow (Aimophila ruficeps)

Rufous crowned sparrow (Aimophila ruficeps)

They always look so grumpy!

They always look so grumpy!

A lesser goldfinch (Spinus psaltria)

A lesser goldfinch (Spinus psaltria)…you know how I love goldfinches

IMG_5587

Cutie!

I think this is a golden eagle (but I'm not 100% sure)

I think this is a golden eagle (but I’m not 100% sure)

And of course, plenty of Turkey Vultures, each of which I thought was a condor.

And of course, plenty of Turkey Vultures, each of which I thought was a condor.

