Two Robber Flies

The robber flies represent one of my favourite fly families, Asilidae.  I like Asilids mostly because they are such awesome hunters.  They perch on the edge of a leaf or other exposed area, and dart back and forth, snapping up prey.  Also, the family contains some impressively excellent bee mimics.

But I finally caught some photos of these guys (alas, too late for my Fly day post).

Diogmites sp.

Diogmites sp.

Holcocephala sp.

Holcocephala sp.

He sure looks pleased with his midge of a meal!

He sure looks pleased with his midge of a meal!

PS.  I defended my doctoral dissertation today…I am a doctor!  You can call me Dr. Standingoutinmyfield.  Or just Standing is fine too.  😉

8 thoughts on “Two Robber Flies

Leave a Reply

