The closer you look…

…the more you see!

Sometimes, I am amazed by how much life there is in summer.  It seems like one can just keep zooming in.  I will plop down on a patch of grass and stare at some Lemon Balm…suddenly, I see wool carder bees zipping around, Asilid flies hunting prey, dragonflies darting about, tiny little leafhoppers springing from leaf to leaf.  There is a house wren trilling at me angrily nearby and if I glance up at the shed I can see her nest.

A honeybee lands

A honeybee lands

A wool carder bee (Anthidium manicatum) zips by

A wool carder bee (Anthidium manicatum) zips by

A tiny green grasshopper sits on a leaf

A tiny green grasshopper sits on a leaf

And a teeny tiny shiny blue beetle

And a teeny tiny shiny blue beetle (A Chrysomelid, I think)

Buzzed by this guy again

Buzzed by this guy again

2 thoughts on “The closer you look…

Leave a Reply

