Cat sitting woes

IMG_2922

Lokes

For a person who is allergic to cats, I sure do a lot of cat-sitting.  It has is pluses and minuses.  I am currently watching over two Egyptian Maus, Loki and Idun (or, as I like to call them, Lokes and EEEdddiiee).

EEEEEdddiieeee

EEEEEdddiieeee

They are adorable snuggle bugs/total jerks.

"I plan to knead your calf with my sharp little claws at 3 am."

“I plan to knead your calf with my sharp little claws at 3 am.”

The unfortunate part of cat sitting, for me, is that the more standoffish you are, the more cats love you.  I tend to be very standoffish (because I don’t want my face to swell into a balloon), and thus cats ADORE me.  In fact, these two hate to be separated.  If I close a door, they will paw at the other side and then start licking it.  Which is obnoxious.

*lick*lick*lick*

*lick*lick*lick*

These two are pretty affectionate (though maybe not as much as Jack and Lulu) and have started weaving figure eights between my legs as I walk (very slowly).  Though they supposedly “hate” the attic, where I am sleeping, they have been spending more and more time up there.  The other night I woke up to find them both standing over me, staring at me.

IMG_2916Loki talks a lot, he will say, “Meow” in the most articulate voice I have ever heard.  Every syllable is enunciated.  “ME-OW”

Loki, hamming it up

Loki, hamming it up

Idie likes to drink from the faucet, like this:

idunIdie is shyer, so harder to get a photo of, but I finally managed to get one that captures her personality.

IMG_2937She has pretty eyes.  Such a beautiful, beautiful poop and fur machine.

IMG_2936Okay, last post about these two guys, I promise.  The next place I’m couch surfing at has THREE cats though, so be prepared.

4 thoughts on “Cat sitting woes

Leave a Reply

