Hatching a Black Swallowtail (Papilio polyxenes)

This is Spot.  I hatched him out from a chrysalis that I found.  It was exciting!

I found the chrysalis ten days ago and I brought it into the lab.  I thought for sure it would never hatch.

I found the chrysalis ten days ago and I brought it into the lab.  I knew it was a swallowtail chrysalis because it had two thin threads attaching it to the stem.  But I didn’t know what species it would be.  I thought for sure it would never hatch!

But, sure enough...

But, sure enough…

This morning he crawled out onto my finger!

This morning he crawled out onto my finger!

I took him outside

I took him outside

IMG_3331

One of the undergrads working in my lab and I named him Spot.

His empty chrysalis

His empty chrysalis

close up...look at that proboscis!

close up…look at that proboscis!

IMG_3353

He cleaned his antennae, warmed up in the sun...and...

He cleaned his antennae, warmed up in the sun…and…

Go, Spot, Go!

Go, Spot, Go!

IMG_3371

Learning how to fly

IMG_3376 IMG_3377And he was off!  I know I didn’t really do anything, but I feel like I made something beautiful!  *Sniff* they grow up so fast!!

6 thoughts on “Hatching a Black Swallowtail (Papilio polyxenes)

Leave a Reply

