Out at the farm

My next couch surfing experience leads me to a small independent farm in central PA, where some of my friends live.  They have the basement and I am sleeping on the couch upstairs, while their parents sleep in the two bedrooms up here.  The farm is gorgeous.  Beautiful rolling hills, right now lush with shoulder-high soybeans.

Last night I helped them feed the dogs and the fish (in a stocked pond) and gather eggs from the chickens.  One of the eggs was green…which is good luck!

Chickens!

Chickens!

This is an interesting contrast to the last house I stayed in, four stories of emptiness (as the family was away), and me in the little attic.  Now, I am right in the center of activity, people talking and coming in or going out constantly.  There are very few books here, but an abundance of zucchinis and tomatoes.  I can’t decide whether that is a good trade off or not.

Dawn at the farm

Dawn at the farm

My bike commute has grown to 25 miles each way…through some of the most beautiful biking country.

Bike bike bike!

Bike bike bike!

And when I was driving the tractor the other day, I saw a big black bear.  We went looking for him last night, but of course he wouldn’t be out and about when I had my camera on me!

Found a toad!

Found a toad!

Moon through the corn

Moon through the corn

3 thoughts on “Out at the farm

  1. Pingback: Farm Animals | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

