Stalking dragons and damsels

There are certain bucket list photographs for me…photos that I have always wanted to take myself.  I have always wanted to capture the silhouette of a frog sitting on the other side of a leaf, for example, or star trails at night, or fireflies in the evening.  I have checked off a couple of these photos (the Euglossine bees being one example).  But mostly I have to improve my skills before I can get them.

One example is dragonflies.  I want a fantastic photo of a dragonfly.  Not just a mediocre one (like the ones included here), but an amazing, be-dewed, smiling dragon all my own.

Today, I just stalked the dragonflies and damselflies in a swamp, trying to get that perfect shot.  It was not to be today.

But one day.

IMG_3827

This is maybe one of the cutest things I have ever seen.

IMG_3849

Zzzooommm…This guy would just not sit still.  He was definitely staking out territory, chasing away anything that came close (including a harmless red-spotted purple butterfly)

IMG_3848

Shadow Darner (Aeshna umbrosa)

IMG_3807 IMG_3815 IMG_3819

Oh well, maybe next time.

5 thoughts on “Stalking dragons and damsels

  1. I like your shots of the dragonfly, especially in flight. What I found was the flying ones seem easier to capture at this time of year. Mating? Cooler weather? Not sure why, but lately I too have gotten them flying around. The dew bejeweled ones are a photographer trick. They mist them while they are too cool to take flight, like really early morning. They spray them with a fine mist sprayer. I have heard they put in additives to make the drops big and round too. I would never do that since it might kill the dragonfly. Also, did you see the one that won a Nat Geo contest last year? It was a dragonfly in the blowing rain. After that so many photographers started spraying dragonflies. Their camera is on a tripod with a wireless shutter release in one hand and the sprayer in the other.

    • Haha, I had no idea that they set up the photos like that! Well, I don’t like to pose animals, but I guess one can get really nice photos that way! I wonder what the additives they use are?

      As for the hovering, dragonflies are incredibly territorial, so they will often hover, waiting for an opponent to appear, then they will chase him off.

  2. Pingback: Weird and wonderful insects (Orders) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

