Identifying northeastern bluets

Yesterday, I posted a photo of a bluet,which I thought I wouldn’t be able to get to species.

Bluet (Enallagma sp.)

Bluet (Enallagma sp.)

But I just found this handy dandy chart, so I thought I’d share.

courtesy of

courtesy of odolep.com

courtesy of

courtesy of odolep.com

courtesy of

courtesy of odolep.com

So let’s compare my bluet.

The tail end of my bluet.

The tail end of my bluet.

I’d say, by comparing these, that mine was Enallagma civile, the “Familiar Bluet”.  Ha, I thought he looked familiar!  Too bad these characters don’t work on females.

4 thoughts on “Identifying northeastern bluets

Leave a Reply

