On the Road Again

Ready for launch

Ready for launch

When I was growing up, and we were headed out on the road (which was A LOT, coming from a military family), my dad would always run out ahead of us before we got in the car, crouch down, and pat the road several times.  Then he would look up at us with a mischievous twinkle in his eye.

“I’m hitting the road!” he would cry.  I would giggle uncontrollably and my sister would roll her eyes.  Though many people say I have my father’s sense of humour, I tried this trick on a friend recently and he didn’t get it.  *sigh*

Anyway, the point is that I’m going to run out and give the asphalt a few pats today before I head out on the road for a while.  Tradition.

While I’m gone, here are some of the highlight posts from 2013 (from my perspective) and as always feel free to peruse the archives.

Let’s Talk About Dung!

What is this, a hotel for bees?

The cutest cuckoo bee

Fossil Hunting

Honeybee hexagons and the myriad nest structures of bees

Birds of a feather, 2013

The mitey moth tympanum

Before I go, I also want to give a shout out to a good friend of mine who is walking across the country.  You can follow his adventures here: http://walkitofftom.blogspot.com/

You may know him from this story, or this one.  I love him dearly.

4 thoughts on “On the Road Again

  1. Well best of luck… and thanks for leaving me with that insidious Canned Heat song buzzing in my head from your title (maybe you are are too young. Or ‘had to be there’). All the best from Rolling Harbour

Leave a Reply

