Take a Hike! Grand Canyon Edition: South Kaibab Trail

Hey, hey, hey!  Just got back from my trip to the Grand Canyon, and I thought you might like to…take a hike!  With me!  My original plan was to hike to the bottom of the canyon in one day, camp at the bottom, and hike back up a different trail the next day, but the Grand Canyon is so crowded that, even when I applied for a permit 2 months in advance, all of the camping sites at the bottom were already taken.  Even arriving at the Backcountry information center right as they opened on the day of my hike was not early enough.  That is how popular the Canyon is!

Trying not to be devastated by this hiccup in my plans, I hiked as far down as I could each day, and then back up, camping in the crowded Mather Campground on the rim.  Though I probably put more miles on my feet than I would have with my original plan, I never quite made it to the river.  I was disappointed, but I still really enjoyed this trip!

Here is the South Kaibab trail.  In a day hike, I think it would be possible to get to the bottom and back, but it is strongly advised against by the rangers, so I just went down to Skeleton Point and back to the rim, 6 miles (9.6 km) round trip and 2,040 ft (620 m) elevation change one way.

IMG_4552

Trail head

IMG_4555

Trail head

IMG_4556

One thing about the Grand Canyon is that you can see the trail you’ll be hiking on for miles ahead

IMG_4559

The gorgeous views are non-stop

IMG_4561

Conifer waterfalls

IMG_4562

Dusty, dusty trail

IMG_4565

This trail is exposed…very windy and sunny with no shade or water

IMG_4572

This is why it is crowded

IMG_4579

A wide trail

IMG_4585

Down below the 1.5 mile rest house

IMG_4656

We came from up there!

IMG_4658

The river runs through that inner canyon

IMG_4659

Mules on the trail

IMG_4661

Hi mule!

IMG_4668

You can see this big rock in a lot of my photos from the rim

IMG_4676

I thought this was a condor, but it is just a turkey vulture

IMG_4688

Vista

IMG_4689

Trail

IMG_4692

Vista

IMG_4697

Trail

IMG_4709

Skeleton Point! I asked the ranger about this and he said it was so named because a mule fell off the trail and died and the skeleton was left there for a long time.

IMG_4711

View from Skeleton Point

IMG_4717

Walked a little bit beyond the point

IMG_4762

On the way back up

IMG_4774

As you can imagine, the trail now goes steeply uphill

IMG_4785

I thought this cloud looked like road runner…don’t you think?

IMG_4780 IMG_4787 IMG_4866

6 thoughts on “Take a Hike! Grand Canyon Edition: South Kaibab Trail

  1. Looks like an amazing hike! You got some beautiful shots of the canyon, and your photos really give a good sense of what the trail is like–a must do next time I’m in the area. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Astounding. Great pics. Loved that. Now I feel I’ve done it myself and can tick it off the list. I’d find the crowds really annoying, anyway. The feeling might be mutual, as I scowled my way along muttering darkly. RH

    • Hehehe, yeah it was definitely not what I was looking for. I had some erroneous notion that I might find solitude and have an opportunity to reflect on the last five years, but the crowds were impossible. It was mind blowingly gorgeous though.

  3. Pingback: (Other) Vertebrate fauna of the Grand Canyon | standingoutinmyfield

  4. Pingback: You’re not a…birder, are you? | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

