(Other) Vertebrate fauna of the Grand Canyon

Hope you’re not sick of the Grand Canyon posts!  ‘Cause I’m still going strong.  I’ve already posted about a couple of the hikes that I did there (1 and 2), as well as the birds that I saw while visiting.  Today, I wanted to share some of the other fascinating vertebrate fauna of the canyon and rim.  It is by no means an exhaustive list, as I was only in the canyon for 2 days!

Mule Deer (Odocoileus hemionus)-ubiquitous both on the rim and in the canyon and one of the most popular animals

IMG_5034 IMG_5257 Elk (Cervus canadensis)-I only saw elk on the rim.  They were common, but I had trouble catching a good photo of them, mostly because I usually saw them while riding a shuttle bus from one place to another.

Fortunately, the light from the setting sun perfectly framed the butt of this elk.

A photographer's dream

A photographer’s dream

IMG_5599 Lizards-there are 47 species of reptiles in the GC, including snakes and lizards.  I can’t identify these photos to species, but I suspect that the side-blotched lizard is well-represented.  Maybe one or two other species, but I can’t be sure.  If you know them, please comment below.

IMG_4764

Heeeeeyyyyyy

IMG_4738 IMG_4771

IMG_5313

IMG_5369 IMG_5479Sciuridae (chipmunks and squirrels)

Ground Squirrel

Rock Squirrel (Otospermophilus variegatus)

IMG_5546

Colorado Chipmunk (Neotamias quadrivittatus)

IMG_5548

“Give me your money!”

Tomorrow, bees!!!

10 thoughts on “(Other) Vertebrate fauna of the Grand Canyon

  1. Pingback: You’re not a…birder, are you? | standingoutinmyfield

  2. Reblogged this on standingoutinmyfield and commented:

    Alas my penchant for photo vomit has left me in the precarious position of no more space on my site! I’m going through old posts and deleting photos, but I’ll try to reshare the posts before I put them down forever. If you love one of these particularly, let me know and I’ll hang onto it.

  3. I can’t believe the elk were riding the shuttle bus! How sophisticated! I can see how it interfered with your shot, though. (Sorry. I couldn’t resist — I had to read that sentence twice to see that You were the one on the bus.)

  4. My kids were little when we went to the Grand Canyon and I think the Canyon itself paled in comparison to the chipmunks and squirrels! The kids were fascinated as they will come quite close of you sit quietly. They also love the mules that took people down into the canyon. Hard for geology, which has always fascinated me, to get notice when there are live things running around. Oh, and the lizards were fun for them too, when they walked quietly enough to actually get to see them before they scampered swiftly away! You brought back a lot of fond memories !

Leave a Reply

