Insects of the Grand Canyon

Admittedly, getting more difficult for me to identify to species, but on the bees, I can still reliably get you to at least genus, even thousands of miles from my area of expertise!

In national parks, whenever someone spots wildlife, others immediately gather round to photograph it as well.  In my case, crouched next to flowers, snapping away, I attracted a lot of attention from the crowds.  “What did you find?  Where is the wildlife?” they asked, looking around in confusion.

“I found a bee!” I would exclaim with some excitement, gesturing at the flowers.

“Oooohhhh…” they would say, bewildered, before gracefully backing away.

Oh well.  Their loss.

Bees – though the species are unfamiliar (and the guides for the western US are undeveloped), the genera are familiar

Halictus sp.

Halictus sp.

IMG_4815

Megachile sp. on Hoary Tansyaster (Machaeranthera canescens)

Andrena sp.

on Golden crownbeard (Verbesina encelioides)

Andrena sp.

Xylocopa californica (the largest bee species in North America!)

Xylocopa californica (the largest bee species in North America!)

Wasps – a bit harder to identify for me (outside my expertise) but still cool!

A thread-waisted wasp, maybe a Prionyx?

A thread-waisted wasp, maybe a Prionyx?

Definitely a cutie

Definitely a cutie

IMG_4879

I think a spider wasp (Pompilidae)

I think a spider wasp (Pompilidae)

Beetles – only photographed this guy, but he was very common on the yellow flowers

I think in the genus Chauliognathus

I think in the genus Chauliognathus

Damselflies – these pretty blue guys were quite common down at Indian Gardens

This might actually STILL be the familiar bluet (Enallagma civile) that I photographed in PA

This might actually STILL be the familiar bluet (Enallagma civile) that I photographed in PA

Heeeyyyy

Heeeyyyy

Butterflies – I only captured 2 species

Checkerspot (Chlosyne acastus)

Checkerspot (Chlosyne acastus)

"I am the night!!"

“I am the night!!”

Painted Lady (Vanessa virginiensis)

Painted Lady (Vanessa virginiensis)

6 thoughts on “Insects of the Grand Canyon

Leave a Reply

