The most dangerous animal in the Grand Canyon

The mammal list of Grand Canyon national park lists wolves and mountain lions.  The reptile list mentions six species of rattlesnakes with venomous bites.  The elk represent one of the largest ungulate species in the world, and can be deadly when aggressive.

But the rangers will tell you that none of those are the most dangerous animals in the Grand Canyon.  The most dangerous animal in the Grand Canyon is…

The rock squirrel

The rock squirrel

I know what you are thinking.  The rock squirrel does not look dangerous, it looks cute!  But as it turns out, the rock squirrels carry fleas and fleas carry the plague, and the plague is more dangerous than a rattlesnake bite.

Who me?

Who me?

Unfortunately, the squirrels are also very cheeky*.  They know you have trail mix, and they WANT IT.

Trrraaaaiilll  mix?

Trrraaaaiilll mix?

I was completely surrounded.  They were sneaking up on all sides.

Paint me like one of your French girls.

“Paint me like one of your French girls.”

The squirrel obesity epidemic is a problem even here.

The squirrel obesity epidemic is a problem even here.

While I was photographing Mr. Chubby Cheeks above, this other guy was trying very hard to break into my pack.  He got his nose right into my camera.

"Food for me?!?!"

“Food for me?!?!”

I shouted something to the effect of, “Bugger off!”

An unintentional selfie

An unintentional selfie

Oh well, I hope I didn’t get the plague.

*pun intended

4 thoughts on “The most dangerous animal in the Grand Canyon

  1. That might be the fattest squirrel I’ve ever seen. Doesn’t even look embarrassed.

    I would have thought humans would be the most dangerous animal in the Grand Canyon…

  2. Pingback: You’re not a…birder, are you? | standingoutinmyfield

  3. Pingback: Squirrels of Arizona | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

