Signs you’re turning into a Praying Mantis

I’m settling into my new place and it is great to finally have a room of my own to come home to (at least for a little while).  I’ll tell you a funny little story to stall while I’m busy working on the mundane details of getting my life reestablished in a new place and trying not to die on my trying commute.

This past weekend, I was visiting my sister, brother-in-law, and niece and nephew.  My niece, who is 7 years old now, is very bright, but she likes to make up stories.  When I walked in the door, she looked at me keenly and asked, “Do you have a scratchy throat?”

“No,” I said.

“Oh, good,” she replied, clearly relieved.

“Why do you ask?”

“Well,” she said, “There is a scratch on your leg, and you have brown eyes, so if you had a scratchy throat, you’d be turning into a praying mantis.”

With some surprise, I said, “How do you know that?”

“Years of experience,” she responded sagely.

My niece, Jordan, blowing a kiss.

My niece, Jordan, blowing a kiss.

Leave a Reply

