Mist netting in Costa Rica

Work is busy so I am going to throw some photos of birds at you as a distraction tactic while I run the other way.  These are old photos from a field ecology course I taught in Costa Rica a while ago, and I hope my photography has since improved.  If you like bird photos, you can also check out Birds of a Feather, among others.

IMG_2123

Wedge billed Woodcreeper (Glyphorynchus spirurus)

IMG_2124

A student with the bird

IMG_2129

A bird in the hand… (Garden Emerald (Chlorostilbon assimilis)), and the smallest bird I have ever held (I could feel her heart pounding in my hand)

IMG_2143

Red-capped manakin (Pipra mentalis)

IMG_2149

Sammy!

IMG_2153

Violet crowned woodnymph (Thalurania colombica)

IMG_2165

A student losing a hummingbird

P1080754

Blue-crowned manakin (Lepidothrix coronata)

P1080756

Two good looking birds!

P1080757

Blue throated golden tail (Hylocharis eliciae)

P1080763

Blue throated golden tail (Hylocharis eliciae)
(Looks like he is wearing lipstick!)

P1080776

We weigh these birds in bags, which I feel is much more dignified

P1080777

Ochre-bellied Flycatcher (Mionectes oleagineus)

P1080780

Well, don’t get your feathers all ruffled

P1080781

Female Violet crowned woodnymph (Thalurania colombica)

P1080782

Golden tail

8 thoughts on “Mist netting in Costa Rica

  1. Good dredge from the archives! Love these. The Hummers especially, though the manakins look cheerful too. The Garden Emerald is remarkably similar to the Cuban Emerald Chlorostilbon ricordii we get on Abaco, Bahamas. And our Bahama Woodstars have wonderful metallic gold tail feathers like the Golden Tail. I’ve never handled one – just as well, I’d probably squish it in my clumsy mitts… RH

  2. Pingback: Ruby-Throated Hummingbird (Drawing) | standingoutinmyfield

  3. Pingback: You’re not a…birder, are you? | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

