Oh my gosh, Rainbow!

I live on top of one mountain, and work on top of another.  This means that, every day, I get up, hop on my bike in the wee hours of the morning, shoot down a mountain praying fervently not to hit a pothole wrong and die, then bike up another mountain, grinding slowly against the steep slope to get to work.  Then, at the end of the day, I hop on my bike, shoot DOWN the mountain, and grind my way slowly up the OTHER mountain to go home.

I often daydream about a magic bridge that would link work and home, which are at approximately the same elevation.

But one bonus of this daily commute is that I am treated to amazing views.  You’ll have to take my word for it because there is no way I am carrying heavy camera equipment up that mountain on my bike, and even if I did, there is no way to stop on that slope without dying a horrible death.

Last night, as I was biking home, thoughtfully pumping up one of the steepest bits of the slope before home, I looked over to the east…and saw one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen in my life.

The whole river valley was lit by sun streaming through a gap in the storm clouds.  The hills were alive with the vivid autumn colours of burnt yellow, crimson red, and dusky orange.  And the valley was crowned by a perfect, complete rainbow.

I turned to the west toward home and saw huge piles of clouds glowing gold and rose in front of the setting sun.

Then it poured.  I mean, icy rain just came down in buckets.  And I was soaked to the skin by the time I made it home.

It was worth it.

Anyway, the whole experience reminded me of this viral youtube video that my roommate showed me (be prepared to be blown away by how excited this guy is):

And then the song remix of his video (equally awesome):

Anyway, I just had to share my excitement and his at this beautiful natural phenomenon.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Oh my gosh, Rainbow!

  1. Pingback: Snowbow! | standingoutinmyfield

  2. Pingback: Oh my gosh double rainbow! | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

