My little village

I’m living in a little village on top of a mountain. It is very pretty, so I thought I would share some of the views.

IMG_6016

Sunrise

The ecovillage was founded on ideals of sustainability and community values.

IMG_6011

Sunset

The decisions are reached in consensus.

Ithaca

The view of the town where I work from my village

And there is a lot of focus on green energy and local organic food. Many of the people living here grow their own food and have solar panels to help offset energy costs.

IMG_6569

The village has three ponds, and is surrounded by meadows

It is also a very safe neighborhood, great for families.

IMG_6570

No cars are allowed in the village…there are gravel trails for walking (or in my case, running everywhere like a maniac because I’m always in a hurry)

The community houses provide a lot of shared resources that would be impossible to acquire as an individual (like pool tables), and certainly for an itinerant individual like myself.

IMG_6571

The meadows are pretty, even after all the flowers have died

Residents volunteer a few hours a week to ensure that everything runs smoothly.

IMG_6572

The houses have some beautiful gardens

IMG_6574

With lots of fall colours!

IMG_6614

My front yard

I say “my” as if it belongs to me, when in fact I am no more than an ephemeral member.  Still, it is a great privilege to belong to this tight knit community, if only for a little while.  Besides, I love being able to barter for things with my homemade pies.  😉

If you’d like to learn more about the village, you can read about it here.

6 thoughts on “My little village

  1. It sounds an amazing place and beautiful too. There was no mention of religion. All similar communities that I have heard of require adhesion to a religion or cult. It would be wonderful to live in an truly altruistic community.

    • No religion! Or at least everybody can have whatever religion they want and it is not a community thing. Although, I’m not sure about truly altruistic, haha. Everybody contributes and we all benefit from shared resources. It is a good place.

Leave a Reply

