My favourite Snowy Owl

I have never seen a snowy owl in the wild, sadly (although I did draw one once for my owl book!).  However, there is a snowy owl story that regularly circulates on my birding listserve.  And every time I see it, I fall in love with this owl again.

Here is the post, from North American Birding, by Greg Neise. The photos were taken by Rick Remington, a birder from Illinois.

And I borrowed some photos to persuade you to go read the story!!

All photos are by Rick Remington (2011).

Unlike most owls, this one says, "Wooohoooo!"

Unlike most owls, this one says, “Wooohoooo!”  (But you should check out the owl book to see what snowy owls really say!)

SO-8

“Yippee!!”

SO-11

“Ho ho!”

SO-12

“Huzzah!”

And

"Hey baby"

“Hey baby”

2 thoughts on “My favourite Snowy Owl

  1. Pingback: I found a snowy owl!!!! | standingoutinmyfield

  2. Pingback: Links to share | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

