Yeti

The other day I went running when the wind chill was -19F (-28C).  I don’t wear much when I run, usually just a long sleeve with under armor and running tights with shorts over them (more for modesty than warmth).  That day I also deigned to wear a fleece, which is a big deal for me.  Not only that, but I wore shoes, so you can see that I was behaving responsibly.

It was not only cold that day, but it was blowing snow horizontally.  As I ran, after about the first mile, ice started building up on the outside of my fleece.  By the end of the second mile, ice was accumulating on my eyelashes.  At the end of the third mile, my eyelashes were coated in ice, and I was viewing the world through almond shaped ice portals.  Ice crystals had begun to build up on my cheeks.

My eyelashes looked like this, if not worse, haha, image source

My eyelashes looked like this, if not worse, haha, image source

By the end of the fourth mile, I was a yeti.  Each eyelash was a frosty icicle, my cheeks were coated with crystals, and my outfit was white with ice and frost.  With limited peripheral vision, I saw someone do a double take, stop, and then stare shamelessly as I trotted past.  A few people started to laugh, some pointed me out to their friends.

Either that or Narnia's ice queen, photograph by

Either that or Narnia’s ice queen, photograph by Saskia Cole

Eager to see for myself what all the commotion was about, I finished my run and looked in a reflective window.  Ah!  Evidence of the yeti!  All this time we’ve been looking for one and it’s been me the whole time!

I actually looked more like this, source

I actually looked more like this, source

10 thoughts on “Yeti

  1. haha, too funny! I went on a run recently that was in the negatives (F) and wanted to take a picture at the end because my eyelashes had froze, but my iPhone was drained because it was so cold out! next time I guess…

Leave a Reply

