Northern Cardinal (drawing)

Favourite bird series for the win!  This cardinal is the THIRD drawing I’ve done for my house mate, which just goes to show that I do more things for people who are closer to me…geographically.  Anyway, we have three cabinets in the kitchen and she hung the first two up and the third cabinet looked lonely stop judging me.

In one of my favourite Latin name tricks, the Cardinal is Cardinalis cardinalis.  The only other member of this genus has the impossible to pronounce common name of Pyrrhouxia.

In one of my favourite Latin name tricks, the Cardinal is Cardinalis cardinalis. The only other North American member of this genus has the impossible to pronounce common name of Pyrrhuloxia.

Garden walk, garden talk just did a lovely (and well-timed) post on the stunning red colour of the cardinal, go check it out!

I’ve loved cardinals for a long time, but the memory that strikes me most about them was in the middle of a dreary February morning, when the whole world was white with nearly a meter and a half of snow.  The cardinal flew up and landed on a snowy branch and for a moment, it was the only colour in the entire world.  I’ll never forget that (even when they are biting me).

8 thoughts on “Northern Cardinal (drawing)

Leave a Reply

