Take a Hike!: Hills Creek State Park

I drove down to Pennsylvania over the weekend to go hiking with an old hiking buddy.  And I brought my new hiking buddy!  Old buddy meets new buddy.  Plus, Bella, the Jack Russell Terrier.  A great day.

We hiked around the Lake Side Trail at Hills Creek State Park, PA.  Here are some photos!

The lake was largely frozen, but a bit melted at the edges

The lake was largely frozen, but a bit melted at the edges

A beautiful forest shifting from red pine, to hemlock, to yellow birch, to hardwoods including red maple and beech, to spruce.

A beautiful forest shifting from red pine, to hemlock, to yellow birch, to hardwoods including red maple and beech, to spruce.

I was quite surprised to see the ice fishers out, especially considering the melty margins of the lake!

I was quite surprised to see the ice fishers out, especially considering the melty margins of the lake!

Bella the Jack Russell Terrier

Bella the Jack Russell Terrier

Baby hemlock trees are the cutest

Baby hemlock trees are the cutest

IMG_9630 IMG_9633

Old hiking buddy: "stop taking photos, I'm freezing my arse off"

Old hiking buddy: “stop taking photos, I’m freezing my arse off”

And then, just to make it challenging, the whole of the trail through the spruce forest was a sheet of ice

And then, just to make it challenging, the whole of the trail through the spruce forest was a sheet of ice

Ice everywhere

Ice everywhere

I should have brought my skates

I should have brought my skates

Very pretty though

Very pretty though

Had to make it challenging for Titanium man

Had to make it challenging for Titanium man

IMG_9643 IMG_9645 IMG_9646 IMG_9647Thanks for tagging along!

4 thoughts on “Take a Hike!: Hills Creek State Park

  1. Much the same up here with the ice through the woods on trails. The smaller bodies of water are still frozen, yet the Great Lakes are opening up a bit for birds migrating. Sad part is along the shore is very frozen far out into the Lakes. This has been a hardship on many bird species.

    • It has indeed. We might hope it will reduce pest populations, like the emerald ash borer and the woolly adelgid. I was hoping it might knock back ticks and mozzies too, but I’ve already found ticks this spring. 😦

Leave a Reply

