Newt Time

One of my friends and I have an inside joke (that’s an understatement, actually, we have a million inside jokes).  Soon after we met, he told me about the migration of the salamanders in the spring, and I told him I would just *love* to see it.  We didn’t know if we would see each other until the migration, so when we said good bye, we said, “Until newt time.” instead of “Until next time.”

Now, not all salamanders are newts (just as not all rectangles are squares) and the spotted salamander is a “true salamander”, so it cannot be called a newt (newts are in the subfamily Pleurodelinae).  In spite of that, this is what I drew for his birthday card.

Newt time!

Newt time!

 

4 thoughts on “Newt Time

Leave a Reply

