The First Day of Field Season

The first day of field season is something sacred to me.  This year, my season is starting early.  I’m trying to track the phenology (flowering season) of plants that provide nectar and pollen to bees and I want to be out there when the first things are flowering.  So I was out on the first of April, when most of the snow had melted, doing transects.  When I told the farm managers what I was doing, they laughed at me.

“Nothing is flowering just yet,” I explained, showing him my empty data sheet.

“Oh, you’re very astute,” the farmer said patronizingly, “What a keen observer you are.”

(I take these kinds of things in stride.)  I nodded sagely and wandered away, squishing through mud in my gum boots.  In spite of the stress of this field season (new sites, new vehicle, new system), and the uncertainty in my data, the anticipation of field work is wonderful.  This is what I love.

Can't complain about this sunrise

Can’t complain about this sunrise

Gorgeous day to start field work

Gorgeous day to start field work

IMG_9792 IMG_9793

The orchards are pretty even before they begin to flower.

The orchards are pretty even before they begin to flower.

Last year's fruit on a speckled alder.

Last year’s fruit on a speckled alder.

Red osier dogwood has such brilliant red stems

Red osier dogwood has such brilliant red stems

The red maples are definitely thinking about it!  They'll be one of the first to bloom.

The red maples are definitely thinking about it! They’ll be one of the first to bloom.

Willows are another early blooming species...not yet, but soon!

Willows are another early blooming species…not yet, but soon!

2 thoughts on “The First Day of Field Season

Leave a Reply

