First bees of the year!

Colletes inaequalis, the cellophane bee, is the first bee out and about I have seen this year.  Needless to say, I was pretty excited.  A friend showed me a nesting aggregation on campus, and I spent the better part of an hour crawling around on my belly taking photos.  It was right next to a bus stop, so I can only imagine what the people coming and going must have thought of me.  Oh well!  Science!

This is a male cellophane bee (Colletes inaequalis)

This is a male cellophane bee (Colletes inaequalis)

The males emerge first in the spring and wait for the females to emerge so that they can mate

The males emerge first in the spring and wait for the females to emerge so that they can mate

(Plus, they're super cute)

(Plus, they’re super cute)

I like their little mustaches

I like their little mustaches

They make their own cellophane to line their nest cells with

They make their own cellophane to line their nest cells with

Future me, if you're reading this, these guys were spotted on April 10.  Also, the forsythia just started blooming.  Signed, past me

Future me, if you’re reading this, these guys were spotted on April 10. Also, the forsythia just started blooming. Signed, past me

Awwwwwwww

Awwwwwwww

9 thoughts on “First bees of the year!

  1. Pingback: Cellophane bee nests | standingoutinmyfield

  2. Pingback: Early spring bees: Nomada | standingoutinmyfield

  3. Pingback: Cellophane bees | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

