What’s blooming this week? (May 5)

In addition to the things that were flowering last week (and since the beginning of April), here are the species that just started flowering this week in my orchards in the fingerlakes region of New York.

Field Pennycress (Thlaspi arvense)

IMG_1879

You can see the shorter cardamine all around the base of the pennycress

IMG_1876 Black Medic (Medicago lupulina)

Black Medic

The very first tiny blooms of Black Medic

Wild Strawberry (Fragaria virginica)

Wild strawberry (Fragaria virginica) in only one of my sites this week

Wild strawberry (Fragaria virginica) in several of my sites this week

IMG_1713Serviceberry (Amelanchier sp.)

Serviceberry a common edge tree species now in bloom

Serviceberry, a common edge tree species now in bloom

Plums (feral or cultivated, Prunus sp.)

Since plums are in the cherry genus, I like to think of them as just big cherries

Since plums are in the cherry genus, I like to think of them as just big cherries

Plum flower

Plum flower

Peach (Prunus persica)

IMG_1749

Norway Maple (Acer platanoides)

Acer platanoides flowers

Acer platanoides flowers (you can dip a finger in that nectar…it’s very sweet!)

And baby leaves

And baby leaves

Not technically a new species, but the white morph of Viola sororia

IMG_1874Yellow violet (Viola pubescens)

Yellow violet

Yellow violet

Forget me not (Myosotis sp.) (I LOVE these flowers)

Don't forget me!

Don’t forget me!

IMG_1819Paper Birch (Betula papyrifera)

Paper birch, the catkins are half mature and half immature!

Paper birch, the catkins are half mature and half immature!

And then I found some ephemerals in one of my orchards, so we have:

Trout Lily (Erythronium americanum)

I love trout lilies

I love trout lilies

IMG_1843And White Trillium (Trillium grandiflorum)

I could take a million Trillium photos

I could take a million Trillium photos

IMG_1854 IMG_1855

5 thoughts on “What’s blooming this week? (May 5)

  1. Pingback: What’s blooming this week? (May 12) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

