Jeff, the mouse

This morning, I caught a little mouse in the kitchen.  Instead of killing him (as I ought to), I put him in a big yogurt container with cheese and pretzels and he rode with me on my bike to work, where I put him in a little terrarium with lots of napkins for him to burrow around in.  I’m planning to release him in a meadow, but until then, I named him Jeff.*

Stop judging, if you’d seen his little face, you would have done the same thing.

Jeff isn’t just any mouse.  He is adorableness all bundled up into a little package.

I know, I know, I’m supposed to be a biologist, but…just look!

Jeff is a mighty mouse

Jeff is a mighty mouse

Just look at his little face!

Just look at his little face!

IMG_2406 IMG_2408

IMG_2418 IMG_2424 IMG_2432*I should add that this is a native North American species, the white footed mouse (Peromyscus leucopus).

13 thoughts on “Jeff, the mouse

    • I don’t have any cats, but my friend’s dog loves to eat mice! I wouldn’t begrudge her the right to eat him if she caught him, but I caught him so I can do what I please! Hahaha, and it pleases me to feed him pretzels and cheese.

  1. We have a humane mouse trap — a clear plastic box with a little trapdoor which lets the mouse in but not out (their favourite bait is peanut butter) We catch them and take them out to the nature strip.

Leave a Reply

