What’s blooming this week? (July 7)

Again, I am down to five orchards, but there are still new flowering species in these orchards each week!  If you want to see what was flowering last week (and then the weeks before that) click here.  These are the species that just started flowering this week in apple orchards of the Fingerlakes region of New York.

Purple Loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria)

Such a pretty invasive

Such a pretty invasive

IMG_6321Evening Primrose (Oenothera biennis)

Not actually a primrose (Primula)

Not actually a primrose (Primulaceae)

Sacred Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera)

IMG_6384 IMG_6387Hosta sp.

I've seen this ornamental flowering in gardens for a few weeks but this is the first time one has flowered in one of my orchards

I’ve seen this ornamental flowering in gardens for a few weeks but this is the first time one has flowered in one of my orchards

Bell pepper (Capsicum annuum)

IMG_6318Melons (Cucumis melo)

IMG_6377Pearl Yarrow (Achillea ptarmica)

IMG_6337

Like big yarrow

Common Agrimony (Agrimonia gryposepala)

IMG_6390Cup Plant (Silphium perfoliatum)

I had never seen this plant before but I knew it on site simply because I spend SO MANY HOURS staring at botanical guides.

I had never seen this plant before but I knew it on site simply because I spend SO MANY HOURS staring at botanical guides.

IMG_6427New England Aster (Symphyotrichum novae-angliae)

IMG_6350Dill (Anethum graveolens)

I'm always happy for plants with a distinctive smell.

I’m always happy for plants with a distinctive smell.

Glossy False Buckthorn (Frangula alnus)

The bees were lovin it

The bees were lovin it

Enchanter’s Nighshade (Circaea lutetiana)

This weird two petalled flower took me forever to figure out

This weird two petalled flower took me forever to figure out

And a bonus plant that’s been flowering for three weeks that I couldn’t figure out…Valerian (Valeriana officionalis)!

With smelly hollow stems

With smelly hollow stems

IMG_5078

9 thoughts on “What’s blooming this week? (July 7)

  1. Great list, as always! I have cup plant in my garden. . I had miss id-ed it as grey cone flower when it only had 2 leaves up. .. ended up putting it in a spot not meant for a 10’plant, ugh. I have valerian also. I love the odd smell. For yuks, I’m going to see if that circaea keys out in my fav app. Don’t you hate how one id can hold up the whole post?

  2. Great photos and identifications.
    I just LOVE June and July. So many flowers in their bloom stage. So many videos to take of the bees participating. When the sun is out and the bees are flying, forget about getting any work out of me. 🙂

  3. Pingback: What’s blooming this week? (14 July) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

