Half Iron Man and peaceful clouds

I completed my first Half Iron Man triathlon yesterday.  Those things are intense!  I know people do twice the distance in a full iron man, but I was happy to not be going farther.  I trained for five months, and with a more than full time job it was tricky to squeeze the training in.

Peaceful clouds because I'm sore and beaten up, haha

Peaceful clouds because I’m sore and beaten up, haha

However! I’m so happy that I successfully completed the triathlon in what I consider to be a reasonable time.  I tried to do this triathlon two years ago and broke my shoulder the WEEK before the race after I had trained for FIVE MONTHS.  So needless to say, I was nervous in the weeks leading up to the race.

If the chemical symbol for iron is Fe, do I get the F for fail or the e for Effort?

If the chemical symbol for iron is Fe, do I get the F for fail or the e for Effort?

Standing waist deep in the rough lake waters before the start of the race, I felt lucky to have the chance to tri*.  But even then, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to complete it.  I felt very outclassed by the other athletes.  I was wearing a borrowed wetsuit that was several sizes too big, my cheap muddy bike stood shyly on the racks next to shining aerobars, disc wheels, and tear drop helmets, and for nutrition I had three bananas instead of the goos and gels that the real athletes preferred.

IMG_6033

Finding your center on race day

But when the bell rang, I took off swimming and I felt happy to finally be in the race I had worked so hard for.  The waves were huge, the biggest ever seen for that race, but my open water training and ocean field work gave me an advantage so that I could swim strong and not panic as the waves smacked into me.

I chanced to look over to my right at one point and saw a girl swimming about 4 ft beneath me...also on top of the water.  Big waves!

I chanced to look over to my right at one point and saw a girl swimming about 4 ft beneath me…also on top of the water. Big waves!

It poured rain during the bike and run and I got a flat on mile 51 of a 56 mile race (so unfair!!).  On the run, I adopted an easy 8 min mile pace and stuck to it for the duration.  At one point, as I passed someone, he said “Oh…you’re flying…”  My favourite quote of the day.

I was flying on sheer will and stubbornness 'cause I didn't stop at a single aid station for water or food.

I was flying on sheer will and stubbornness ’cause I didn’t stop at a single aid station for water or food.

So, in spite of a broken toe on one foot (from trail running earlier in the week) and a slash on a toe on the other foot (from getting out of the lake), I ran!  I finished!  I’m happy, even though my time seems pathetic to some of the other athletes (the top female finisher was done in under 5 hours!!! she rocked my socks!).

Here are the details of my officially pathetic times (which I am still somehow proud of) for those of you who enjoy this sort of thing:

1.2 mile swim: 43:24, Transition 1: 7:31,

56 mile bike: 3:53:42 (or 3:43 if you don’t count the flat!), Transition 2: 6:25

13.1 mile run: 1:48:47

Total time 6:39:49 (or 6:29:49 if you don’t count the flat! hahaha)

Thanks for reading!

*Hahahaha

7 thoughts on “Half Iron Man and peaceful clouds

  1. You trained for five months despite having a “more than full time job?” THAT’S intense! Congrats on finishing something that most of us wouldn’t ever consider.

  2. Well you are a modest one to be sure. 5 months training. Completed each Uni of the Tri. Still breathing (check this)? Then you did a great job, Iron Woman! [What kind of superhero would she be? A simple office girl who, when the world is threatened by evil, changes swiftly into a suit of armour?]

    • I just checked and I do still seem to be breathing. Hahaha, I like your version of Iron Woman…well, we decided that since the chemical symbol for iron is Fe and man=male, that an Ironman is just a Female. 🙂

  3. Fe Male. Perfect. Geddit. A scientific approach to the naming business. For us ‘verbal’ people, we just know that Iron Man Race is named for its founder, American Ron (Anag.)

Leave a Reply

