What’s blooming this week? (July 21)

New things still bloom each week!  Here are the species that started flowering in my five orchards in the fingerlakes region of western New York.  Click here to go back in time.

Common Tansy (Tanacetum vulgare)

Common Tansy

Common Tansy

IMG_6817Orange Jewelweed (Impatiens capensis)

Orange jewelweed

Orange jewelweed

My friend calls it "poppit weed" because the seeds explode out when you touch the pods.

My friend calls it “poppit weed” because the seeds explode out when you touch the pods.

Common ragweed (Ambrosia artemisiifolia)

IMG_6771Common wormwood (Artemisia vulgaris)

IMG_6801 IMG_6806Common purselane (Portulaca oleracea)

IMG_6729Split-lipped Hemp-nettle (Galeopsis bifida)

Wins the prize for coolest name this week

Wins the prize for coolest name this week

Horseweed (Conyza canadensis)

I use New England keys for many of my identifications, and interestingly this weed didn't show up in them...guess it hasn't spread to those states yet?

I use New England keys for many of my identifications, and interestingly this weed didn’t show up in them…guess it hasn’t spread to those states yet?

Swiss Chard (Beta vulgaris)

In the same family as Amaranth!

In the same family as Amaranth!

Velvetleaf (Abutilon theophrasti)

IMG_6732Burdock (Actium minor)

I'll never forget the Latin name of this species because my botany teacher always used to say "Brrrrrrr dock!  Like the Arctic!"

I’ll never forget the Latin name of this species because my botany teacher always used to say “Brrrrrrr dock! Like the Arctic!”

Black eyed Susan (Rudbeckia hirta)

One of those been flowering in gardens for a while now

One of those species that been flowering in gardens for a while now

Blanket Flower (Gaillardia pulchella)

Ditto

Ditto

Culver’s Root (Veronicastrum virginicum)

Cannibalized from an old post because I forgot to take a photo in the field

Cannibalized from an old post because I forgot to take a photo in the field

3 thoughts on “What’s blooming this week? (July 21)

  1. Brrr dock – love it! I find distinguishing between different members of the thistle family difficult. I can see they have distinct differences, but at the same time they’re all variations of purple and prickly.

  2. Pingback: What’s blooming this week? (28 July) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

