Red currant, Gooseberry, and Nectarine Crumble

Mmm...red currants

Mmm…red currants, they look like little rubies

I’m a part of a delicious berry CSA this year and we recently acquired 7 quarts (7 QUARTS!) of red currants.  In an attempt to do something with them (and with my abundant gooseberries), I modified a traditional crumble recipe.  This results in a tart, tangy, tasty red mess, accented perfectly by the sweet oaty topping.  My flatmates and lab mates enjoyed it!

Filling:

4 1/2 cups of fresh red currants

1 cup sliced fresh gooseberries

3 ripe nectarines, chopped

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 T corn starch

Topping:

3/4 cup flour

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 cup oats

1/2 t salt

1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 cup cold butter, cubed

 

1.  Preheat oven to 375.  Grease a large 2 quart casserole dish (or if you don’t have one, like me, use a pie dish and a small casserole dish and eyeball the quantities, nobody’s perfect).

2.  Combine filling ingredients, spread in pan. (I love crumbles, so easy)

3.  Cut butter into dry ingredients for topping until the mixture is coarse.  Grab handfuls of it and spread it sort of evenly over the filling.

4.  Bake for 35-45 minutes unless all you have is a toaster oven in which case walk away for an hour or two and then check on it.  (I’m not liable if your toaster oven is more powerful than mine and catches your kitchen on fire.  Honestly.)

5.  This can be eaten warm or cold.  I usually have to cut mine into chunks and shove it into tupperware containers, then put it in my backpack and ride five miles into work, so it isn’t perfect when it gets there.  But it still gets eaten!

5 thoughts on “Red currant, Gooseberry, and Nectarine Crumble

  1. Oh, that’s my kind of recipe, sweet and tangy and messy! I will have to adjust as I don’t have any currants or gooseberries but I have nectarines and blue berries and some frozen raspberries, with your recipe, I’m sure it will come out fine ! And your photos are just lovely. I have been meaning to tell you how much I enjoy them!

  2. Pingback: I forgot the cilantro! | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

