What’s blooming this week? (28 July)

I will be traveling over the next couple of weeks, so I’m not yet sure how the what’s blooming posts will pan out.  Nonetheless, here are the plants that started flowering in the past week in my five apple orchards.  Click here to go back in time.

Hoary False Alyssum (Berteroa incana)

IMG_7268I think this is Pennsylvania Smartweed (Persicaria pensylvanica), but the Persicarias are tricky

IMG_7263Downy Willow Herb (Epilobium strictum)

IMG_7259Green-headed coneflower (Rudbeckia laciniata)

IMG_7228Buttonbush! (Cephalanthus occidentalis)

This plant is so cool...I was hoping I would find one this year

This plant is so cool…I was hoping I would find one this year

IMG_7236Beebalm (Monarda fistulosa)

IMG_7234I think last week’s Solidago was Solidago juncea (early goldenrod, which makes sense since it was the first species to flower).  This week, a new goldenrod started flowering, but it isn’t a Solidago.  This is common grass-leaved goldenrod (of flat top goldenrod) Euthamia graminifolia.

IMG_7206Shrubby Rose Mallow (or Rose of Sharon, Hibiscus syriaca)

IMG_7240Blue Vervain (Verbena hastata)

IMG_7191

And another ornamental that has stumped me…see if you can ID it for me!

IMG_7244 IMG_7245 IMG_7246 IMG_7248

8 thoughts on “What’s blooming this week? (28 July)

  1. Such a variety of plants! I love that you included the Rose of Sharon as that’s my “real” name, and I have always thought they were lovely. With a name like Rose-of-Sharron Ann, Sherry is shorter if not so much like me. That first flower, hoary false Alyssum, has petals kind of like dragonfly wings, the slender double petals angled like that. And, wow, I have never seen anything like that button bush! Wonder what made it evolve into that explosion of flowers? Just amazing! Thanks again for your lovely photos!

  2. Pingback: I forgot the cilantro! | standingoutinmyfield

  3. Pingback: What’s blooming this month? (August) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

