Take a hike! (with me?): Mirror Lake, Yosemite NP

Mirror Lake is in Yosemite National Park and I’m sure that in most years, it is spectacularly beautiful.  Not that it wasn’t beautiful when I hiked to it!  Just that California has had three consecutive years of severe drought and this year has been especially bad and, as a result, there was very little “lake” to Mirror Lake.  Still a wonderful hike! And a nice respite from the very crowded parts of the park.

I did see three bear cubs and a momma bear on this hike.  I passed them twice (once on the way up and once on the way down) and on the second time they looked like something out of a painting.

They moved like ghosts in the dim twilight, silent in the empty understorey of the giant sequoias.  Against the backdrop of the golden conifer needles that carpet the forest floor, their outlines seemed hazy and indistinct.  I got the impression that they would be so soft to the touch (not that I would ever touch a momma bear or her cubs!).

I wish I could have captured a photograph, but the combination of the dying light and their distance made it impossible.  I hope you can get an image of how beautiful they were in your mind, though!

This hike brought to you by big granite rocks, huge trees, and sandy soil.

This hike brought to you by big granite rocks, huge trees, and sandy soil.

IMG_7728 IMG_7737 IMG_7740 IMG_7741 IMG_7759 IMG_7766IMG_7726 IMG_7758 IMG_7765

These beautiful flowers

These beautiful flowers, I suspect are Bigelow’s Sneezeweed

IMG_7774

What remains of Mirror Lake is still quite Mirror Like

What remains of Mirror Lake is still quite Mirror Like

But there's not much of it

But there’s not much of it

IMG_7806 IMG_7853IMG_7799

We all feel tiny

We all feel tiny

8 thoughts on “Take a hike! (with me?): Mirror Lake, Yosemite NP

  1. Rocks, and trees, and bears, oh my!

    When my husband and I were on our honeymoon in Yosemite, I don’t want to say how long ago that’s been , I wanted to see a bear. And one night there was a lot of rattling outside our camper, and my husband said, “Well, there’s your bear.” And when I looked out, a HUGE mama bear and two cubs were going down the line of trash cans in the park. The mama would push the can from the bottom until it got to the top of the rack and tipped over, then the cubs would scavenge, then they would move on to the next one. She looked like a Sherman tank . . . especially from behind. I don’t know why but I never realized how very big bears are. I was glad to be inside. Our collie did not bark at the bears but a German shepherd down a way did. The mama cuffed him back under the trailer and he was really quiet after that. He got some scratches but it could have been worse!

    And you made that up . . . Bigelow’s Sneezeweed! I know you did!

  2. Well, I’m glad about the bear boxes, not just for the bear’s sake either. They can be hard on dogs and people too. But I guess we don’t need any studies to prove our diet is bad for us, bad even for the bears! Food is evidently too easy to come by for humans, when it took more work, we ate less of it. I was only kidding you about making up the names, but think about it, if i were going to make up one, it would be one like . . . sneezeweed !

Leave a Reply

