What’s blooming this month? (August)

Well, I missed a couple of weeks because I was traveling, and as I did my transects this week, I could see that the flowering season is beginning to taper in New York.  The largest novel component to the flora is the goldenrods (Solidago spp.), which I need to work on to better understand.  I might dedicate an entire post to them next week.

This is the time of the year when the asters really dominate.  Goldenrod is getting into its prime, with 22 species in New England alone, all flowering in August and September (except for Early Goldenrod which starts at the end of July).

Regardless, here are the things that started flowering some time in the last three weeks.

Click here if you’d like to go back in time.

Common Boneset (Eupatorium perfoliatum)

IMG_8520Joe Pye Weed (Eupatorium purpureum)

IMG_8522Hydrangea (Hydrangea paniculata)

IMG_8534

With complementary cerambycid

IMG_8535White wood aster (Eurybia divaricata)

IMG_8555 IMG_8559Basil (Ocimum basilicum)

IMG_8543Palmate hop clover (Trifolium aureum)

Gosh I just love these hop clovers

Gosh I just love these hop clovers

Blue Lobelia (Lobelia siphilitica)

IMG_8575

9 thoughts on “What’s blooming this month? (August)

  1. You could move south for the winter! I don’t know how you manage the snow! Here between Houston and Galveston, while the weather is hot in the summer, we have such mild winters its unusual for us to freeze, and then only once or twice for a few hours. Rare to get a freeze that lasts long enough to damage plants or animals. Yet our squirrels still think they are going to starve, and the birds are glad of the water bowl because we have long stretches of dry weather. See, you would have things blooming here all year !

  2. If I had a job for a biologist, it would certainly be yours! You would keep life interesting and, though I am known for noticing odd things, I’m sure your photos, and examination of this area would make it a whole new place to me and that would be exciting!

    As it is . . . poets have to have a day job of their own, and though I am retired now, I teach three times a week in a program for gifted students.

    What is it that is more fascinating up north? Or does the south just not have as interesting biology ?

    • Oh no the south has plenty of fascinating biology! It’s just that this is where I got the job. *shrug* That’s life I guess. When this job is done, I’ll be job hunting farther south again.

      It’s great that you teach poetry! I love poetry.

  3. Pingback: What’s blooming this week? (25 August) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

