Spring peeper photo shoot

Forgive me, I’m liking these photo shoot posts, which feature a cool animal.  I guess the feeling is right because this is how I interact with creatures.  I often find a single new or awesome animal on a hike, and it becomes the highlight of the walk.  I take a lot of photos from different angles, and learn its name if I don’t already know it.  I read about its life history and then…I want to share!

Today, I’m featuring a spring peeper (Pseudacris crucifer), which I found in western New York.

He lacks the distinctive X on his back, but my herpetologist friend says peepers are highly variable and confirmed the ID for me

He lacks the distinctive X on his back, but my herpetologist friend says peepers are highly variable and confirmed the ID for me

Amazing that these tiny little frogs can fill the forest with their song

Amazing that these tiny little frogs can fill the forest with their song

Poor thing got a little tangled in a spider web

Poor thing got a little tangled in a spider web

IMG_7322

14 thoughts on “Spring peeper photo shoot

  1. A copper clad frog! What a lovely thing, their skin just glows as if lit from within! After a rain in the summer here, the frogs set to singing. I’m not sure what kind are doing the singing but I suspect the little green ones, that looks sort of like your copper one, but a bright zingy green. Again, lovely photos!

  2. Terrific pics as usual!. I have a pic of a little worm/larvae/? that my cat brought in. Since the cat has a minor health change, I wonder if there is a relationship. I’ve gone through pics of common worms, slugs, and common cat parasites with no match. Do you know someone who could help me identify what this is? My farm-raised husband thought it was a slug, but without any antennae, I’m not so sure. I’ve never seen anything quite like it. Think you could help?

Leave a Reply

