What’s blooming this week? (25 August)

Surprisingly, new things were still blooming this week!  As a caveat, it was pouring down rain during my surveys last week (I was so wet that a coral reef started growing on my socks and I found a shark in my left boot*), and I may have missed some cryptic flowers.  Click here to go back in time.

Maximilian sunflower (Helianthus maximiliani)

IMG_8709

I think…but would not bet my life on it

Yellow Floating Heart (Nymphoides peltata)

IMG_8665

Two things…One this is invasive, two why are all the latin names of the aquatic plants nymph like? Well not all I guess just Nymphaea and Nymphoides

Devil’s Beggars Ticks (Bidens frondosa)

IMG_8678Canada Clearweed (Pilea pumila)

IMG_8693Cosmos (Cosmos bipinnatus)

IMG_8721Crimson clover (Trifolium incarnatum)

IMG_8724Bachelor’s Buttons (Centaurea cyanus)

IMG_8725

My field assistants on an old project used to love this one because the abbreviation on the datasheet was “Bach’s Butt”.  I just like it cause I think it’s ridiculously pretty

Love in a Mist (Nigella sp.)

IMG_8726Moroccan Toadflax (Linaria maroccana)

IMG_8734

Cool.

Tomatillo (Physalis philadelphica)

IMG_8750Tree mallow (Lavatera arborea)

IMG_8752Symphyotrichum which I am still resolving to species (Clue me in if you know)

IMG_8764Japanese Knotweed (Fallopia japonica)

IMG_8847*just joking

6 thoughts on “What’s blooming this week? (25 August)

  1. Again, such beauty! I am very fond of purple, so that tree mallow is lovely to me, and who could not like that cheerful sunflower! It brightens up this cloudy day! I have not seen a flower like the Love in the Mist before, such spikey leaves and delicate flower, with those weird snakey things in the middle. A very striking flower!

Leave a Reply

