Take a Hike! (with me?): Bohen Run and the West Rim Trail

This is a hike I did last weekend down in Pennsylvania.  It was a real pleasure to return to these familiar forests of mountain laurel and low bush blueberry, even if my definition of “waterfall” has been forever changed by New York.

That said, this hike had several small but pleasant waterfalls for a hiker with low waterfall standards.  😛

The overlook, which is the best (and pretty much only) view on the hike

The overlook, which is the best (and pretty much only) view on the hike, click to view bigger

Ooooooohhh hemlocks!  I love hemlocks

Ooooooohhh hemlocks! I love hemlocks

And the very ferny forest floor...this is the hay scented fern, which is invasive but pretty

And the very ferny forest floor…this is the hay scented fern, which is invasive but pretty

A beautiful hike

A beautiful hike

A beautiful forest!

A beautiful forest!

IMG_9506

This is the spiny green caterpillar of the Io Moth (which is gorgeous)

This is the spiny green caterpillar of the Io Moth (which is gorgeous)

IMG_9530

Dynamite shed!

Dynamite shed!

IMG_9537 IMG_9552

Oh look!  Fungi!

Oh look! Fungi!

I love getting photos of people kissing their dogs

I love getting photos of people kissing their dogs

Pretty river

Pretty river

6 thoughts on “Take a Hike! (with me?): Bohen Run and the West Rim Trail

  1. Such a lovely peaceful place. You find the prettiest mushrooms to take pictures of! I have never seen a forest with such a ferny floor! Actually, I don’t think I have ever seen a hemlock tree, but they are grand, aren’t they? I like the mossy rocks by the water, rocks in some form or other always appeal to me and I always try to imagine what the halls inside the rock are like! Must have been a truly beautiful place and your photos share it so nicely!

    • Thank you so much! Yes, the Eastern Hemlock is my favourite eastern North American tree…I love the quality of light in hemlock forests, and the open understorey, and the colour of their bark, and the fact that they stay green all winter. Unfortunately they’re being threatened by an invasive species. 😦

  2. Lovely pictures – very atmospheric! Whenever I take pictures under trees I get the light levels all wrong and I totally fail to capture the peacefulness/mysteriousness, which is a bit of a shame.

Leave a Reply

