Orchard at-tractors

And now for something totally different!

My friend has a bunch of really old tractors and he has been teaching me a taxonomy of tractors, of a sort. (I even got to rake hay with his 1941 Farmall H.) He’s been showing me how to identify (wild) tractors in the field based on their diagnostic characters.  Because of this, I’ve been noticing tractors everywhere!  Here are some of the tractors I’ve seen in my orchards.   I can’t identify them all yet, but I’m learning.

IMG_1175

A very rare model of John Deere

IMG_2151

This one is a Ford

IMG_3763

Ford

IMG_3764

Ford

IMG_0041

I like these really old ones in the weeds

IMG_0040

Reaallly old tractor

IMG_2103

Allis Chalmers G

IMG_2104

Side view of Allis Chalmers G

IMG_0039 IMG_0042 IMG_3761 IMG_4015Yay tractors!

14 thoughts on “Orchard at-tractors

  1. Laughing at the first one…we have one of those rare John Deere’s here at Maywood! Our Ferguson tractor is a similar vintage and appearance to the Ford. We train the next generation on the little John Deere. Those old tractors will last forever with a bit of maintenance…and spare parts from the internet!

  2. Ah, the machines of work! We have family we go to visit in the panhandle of Texas, and through the long drive, mostly through miles and miles of nothing but miles and miles, old tractors and barns are some of the more interesting sights we see. My favorite of these pictures is the side view of the Allis Chalmers G, something about the rust of the harrow (?) being almost the same orange as the paint on it, and the contrast between the rusty, delicate “pipey” body and the more substantial almost pristine tires. As a matter of fact, the tires on all of those old tractors look almost new and make a great blue-black contrast to the decaying bodies. What a great collection of photos!

  3. I love old tractors too! And strangely enough my post this week was on the same theme. I suspect there are quite a few of us that can’t resist those amazing old metal work horses. Thanks for sharing your photos.

  4. Hey, you’ve gone off-piste! But tractors make an excellent study in their own right. One krypto-Darwinian development is the astonishing change of size in 2 generations or so from small puttering machines to massive monsters with wheels as tall as a person. In the rural road outside the room where I am writing this, 2 tractors can no longer pass side by side. One has to go up on the grass bank in front of our house, which gets badly chewed up. I’d have the Ford, please. RH

    • You could say I’ve gone off track? I’m out of my field? The changes in tractor construction are very interesting. I’ve seen the new ones with cabs and air conditioning and radios. But it’s much more fun to be out in the open, bouncing along behind a burping old fart.

Leave a Reply

