A diversity of orchard horses, and Horse, by Cliff Ashcroft

My apple orchards often contain more than apples! Some of them host animals as well. Here are some of my orchard horses, and a poem about horses.

IMG_9869 IMG_9873

Horse

What are you thinking of

as I pass my fingers

through your manes coarse wool?

IMG_2294 IMG_2297

I take your cheek into my palm,

you root my coat for food,

shiver a little. It is cold here,

in the bare fields, under blank cloud.

I love the suspicious look these guys are giving me

I love the suspicious look these guys are giving me

Him too

Him too

You wander between the stark wire

bending to eat, running now

and then. I would do the same

removed from home and company,

taking the warmth of a strangers hands

light and hesitant, like the rain.

– Cliff Ashcroft

Baby!

Baby!

IMG_4012

8 thoughts on “A diversity of orchard horses, and Horse, by Cliff Ashcroft

  1. Oh my! Such a range of horses Orchard horses have got to be the luckiest in the world to live in such a place of abundant sweetness! That spotty horse, how wonderful is that! And that sleek mule there tryin’ so hard to pass itself off as a horse! I have a great fondness for mules, they are smart and not nearly as skittish as horses and they don’t look down on any kind of honest work! You are lucky too to be surrounded by such variety and beauty! Or maybe you just live right !

Leave a Reply

