The death of the ladybird beetle

Spider photos below!  If you’re scared of spiders flip elsewhere…or you know, bask in the comfortable knowledge that these photographs cannot hurt you and observe an interesting phenomenon anyway.

I’ve never had the opportunity to photograph a spider consuming its prey before (or at least not to my satisfaction, I have some photos of ambush spider with food in their chelicerae). I hope this doesn’t distress anyone, but given that this is the time of year when the invasive ladybird beetles are in super abundance, crawling over homes and vehicles, I hope they will garner less sympathy than usual.

Call me entomologist, scientist, or nerd (or call me heartless), but I thought this was pretty cool to watch.

The spider on her home web

The spider on her home web

The spider bites her prey

The spider bites her prey

And rapidly spins the ladybird beetle...I like this photo because you can actually see her spraying web from her spinnerets

And rapidly spins the ladybird beetle…I like this photo because you can actually see her spraying web from her spinnerets

The ladybird is quickly enveloped in webbing

The ladybird is quickly enveloped in webbing

9 thoughts on “The death of the ladybird beetle

  1. Okay, now I am not too sanguine about spiders at the outset, but that’s enough to give me nightmares. Eww! There is something fascinating about spiders, and though we are usually too big to be their prey, there is something in us that recognizes their predatory nature. And I suppose that it doesn’t help that ladybirds have always been a favorite of mine, cute and helpful. Or that there have been a LOT of bad sci-fi (used advisedly) about giant spiders! Still, your photography is top notch and it must have taken a lot of patience to get the photos! Nice work!

Leave a Reply

