Kids say the darnedest things

I was visiting my family a few weeks ago and staying with my aunt and uncle and their adorable almost-two-year-old, little River.

And the pup, Glory!

And the pup, Glory!

River is at the stage where she is learning to talk and she handily repeats everything that is said to her (my subtle influence, “I love trees!” and she obediently responds “I love trees!”*).

River is a cutie

River is a cutie

On the car ride on the way home from our hike, River and I were playing high fives and fist bumps in the back seat.  Then she stared hard at my left hand for a moment.  She must have been used to seeing her mother’s hand most of the time because she looked up at me in confusion and said, “No ring???”

My uncle laughed uproariously in the front seat as I scowled.  Everyone in my family gives me a hard time about not having a significant other and I can’t even catch a break from my baby cousin!

*insert evil laughter

9 thoughts on “Kids say the darnedest things

  1. Eccentricity is the soul of a good example! Who needs an example of what you see every day? People need examples of different ways . . . different ways of thinking, of working, of living! You are a great example, one who shares her differences and makes the rest of us think and see things in new ways! I’d say River is noticing what a great example you are. I suspect you both are lucky!

Leave a Reply

