(Other) Vertebrate fauna of the Grand Canyon

Alas my penchant for photo vomit has left me in the precarious position of no more space on my site! I’m going through old posts and deleting photos, but I’ll try to reshare the posts before I put them down forever. If you love one of these particularly, let me know and I’ll hang onto it.

standingoutinmyfield

Hope you’re not sick of the Grand Canyon posts!  ‘Cause I’m still going strong.  I’ve already posted about a couple of the hikes that I did there (1 and 2), as well as the birds that I saw while visiting.  Today, I wanted to share some of the other fascinating vertebrate fauna of the canyon and rim.  It is by no means an exhaustive list, as I was only in the canyon for 2 days!

Mule Deer (Odocoileus hemionus)-ubiquitous both on the rim and in the canyon and one of the most popular animals

IMG_5034IMG_5257IMG_5609IMG_5031Elk (Cervus canadensis)-I only saw elk on the rim.  They were common, but I had trouble catching a good photo of them, mostly because I usually saw them while riding a shuttle bus from one place to another.

Fortunately, the light from the setting sun perfectly framed the butt of…

View original post 89 more words

2 thoughts on “(Other) Vertebrate fauna of the Grand Canyon

Leave a Reply

