Do you love me… now that I can dance? Birds that can boogey

If you read this blog, it is almost certainly not lost on you that I love insects (particularly bees), but truth be told, I got into ecology because of my love for birds. I still love birds, and I keep a life list (although I’m not a hard core twitcher like some I have known).

The problem with birds, in terms of blogging, is that I don’t have the equipment to photograph them well.  Telephoto lenses are far more expensive than macro lenses (and I got the macro lens for my work, so I had an excuse to spend that money).

BUT, today I am driven to post about them because dancing.  Most bird dancing is to attract female attention but many birds groove without mating in mind. Here’s a compilation of some of my favourite birds that get down, feel free to add more suggestions in the comments.

Buff-rumped warblers (Costa Rica):

Wilson’s Phalaropes (we actually know why these guys twirl; it’s to stir up food that they can pick out of the water):

Willie Wagtail (Australia):

Spotted Sandpiper (twerking, even the babies!):

American Woodcock (awww yeah, groove!):

And of course parrots of all sorts, here’s a cockatoo with serious style (quite a bit better than the original in my opinion):

19 thoughts on “Do you love me… now that I can dance? Birds that can boogey

  1. Love the cockatoo, of course. My parrots like to bob and dance too, and each has their own music preference. Enjoyed seeing the wild ones go for it, too!

  2. Great videos! I’ve done the opposite, started off with a love of insects and finally, after a number of decades, started to get into birds. It seems to be an age thing in my case …. 🙂

  3. Great post, though those Phalaropes make me dizzy. I’ve seen Phoebes dancing in the air, executing perfect figure eights, again and again.

  4. Okay, those birds have some serious moves ! The Phalaropes don’t care if they go clockwise or counter, and that wood cock certainly seemed to be getting down and dirty to its own beat. Wonder what kind of music they hear in their heads while they are dancing, or if they just have to move? We had three baby Eastern screech owls who used to bob and dance on our long cane in the back yard, They would pick one that was thin and bent easily and bounce it up and down. If we saw them out there and they were not bouncing, all we had to do was go out and bob and weave and they would begin the bouncing. They were a . . . (wait for it) hoot!

Leave a Reply

