Take a hike! (with me?): Golden Eagle Trail

I love this trail, located in central Pennsylvania, north of Harrisburg, nestled in what is locally known as the “Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania” (part of Tioga State Forest).  It’s a gorgeous area and I’ve done several hikes around here: never disappointed.  I took only a couple of decent photos on this hike, but there are also some from the last time I hiked it, a couple of years ago (May 2009 is already five and a half years ago?!?!), with the same hiking buddy, but at a very different time of year.  I think my photography has improved a little, but I got a couple of nice shots on that first hike too.

So, cold photos are from this weekend, warm photos are from May 2009.

Hemlocks!

Hemlocks!

IMG_0764

Not the best photo of my Bella baby but you know

Not the best photo of my Bella baby but you know

IMG_0774 IMG_0778 IMG_0780 IMG_0781 IMG_0782 IMG_0783

Love my hiking buddy!

Love my hiking buddy!

Boot shot with hiking buddy...she had a lot of fun seeing how high she could lift my foot while I balanced and tried to take a photo

Boot shot with hiking buddy…she had a lot of fun seeing how high she could lift my foot while I balanced and tried to take a photo

Greeeeeeeen I remember that colour

Greeeeeeeen I remember that colour

P1040305

The story behind the caterpillar is that there were so many eating up the canopy that the falling frass sounded like rain

The story behind the caterpillar is that there were so many eating up the canopy that the falling frass sounded like rain

Same hiking buddy!!

Same hiking buddy!!

P1040313

The classic boot shot

The classic boot shot

P1040319

I’m infamous for this haha, classic SOIMF (that is…sitting out in my field)

P1040332 P1040333 P1040341 P1040347

7 thoughts on “Take a hike! (with me?): Golden Eagle Trail

  1. Yes, they are lovely, both sets of them. That little waterfall in the second set is just amazing! I have to say I prefer the green ones, all except for the first winter one, that one is great! I can’t believe you volunteer to go out walking through the snow! You would have to drag me kicking and screaming down the trail but at least from all the protesting I would get warm! I can’t believe people live where you have that cold wet stuff for nearly half the year! Well, there are all kinds of beauty and all kinds of people to appreciate it. Thanks for the lovely photos, I get to have some experience of snow without the wet and cold! <chuckle!

    • Thank you! I do love the green, but I would hope my photography skills have somewhat improved. Haha, it gets a lot colder and snowier than this! You’d have to work hard to keep me indoors at any time of year. I live to be outside. Thanks for reading!

  2. Pingback: Take a hike! (with me?) The Golden Eagle trail 2016 | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

