Canned Squirrel

To continue my critter themed posts of the week, I thought I would share a story about a squirrel.  I could have sworn that I’ve written up this story before, but I couldn’t find it in my archives.  So forgive me if this is familiar.

At the last university I worked for, there are many, many obese squirrels.  The live well off the discarded scraps that the students leave for them.  (Actually, not just scraps, I once saw a squirrel eating a whole egg McMuffin(TM) by itself.  Another time, I saw one sitting on its haunches licking peanut butter off of a spoon.) Also, they are fed by tourists who think they are “cute”.  The obesity epidemic is real, folks.

In any case, one day I was walking along, minding my own business when I passed a garbage bin.  As I passed, the bin rattled loudly.  I stopped, thinking, “Hm.  That’s not a noise garbage bins usually make…” but no sooner had I thought those words than a squirrel came flying out of the bin.  It crashed into my hip, grabbed on with four sets of tiny sharp claws, and stared up at me.

IMG_0761We made surprised eye contact for just a moment, then it scampered down my leg (I could feel its little claws all the way down) and ran off.  My friends generally agree that this sort of thing only happens to me.

4 thoughts on “Canned Squirrel

Leave a Reply

