4,000 plus miles for 2014

I’ve been recording my swimming, biking, and running miles since I started this blog in the autumn of 2011. In 2012, despite some very serious injuries, I logged about 2,500 miles. In 2013, I logged just over 3,000 miles. And around mid-August of last year, I glanced up and happened to notice that I had already logged 2,700 miles for the year.

I thought, wouldn’t it be great if I could log more miles than last year?

And then I thought, wouldn’t it be even better if I could blow last year’s record away?

And then I thought, wouldn’t it be best if I could beat last year’s mileage by 1,000 miles??!!

But of course, with winter coming, and only four months left in the year, it left me obliged to log over a hundred miles a week for the next 8 weeks or so.  My biggest month of the year was September, where I logged over 525 miles.

I had an idea for a fun little graphic to go with this post but I couldn't execute it as well as I had dreamed it, so this will do instead.

I had an idea for a fun little graphic to go with this post but I couldn’t execute it as well as I had dreamed it, so this will do instead.

Some fun facts (for those of you who are into these kinds of things), swimming comprised only 5% of the mileage, but 23% of the time investment (i.e. not a very efficient way to add miles, but so much fun!).

2014_2Biking and running made up 63 and 32% of the mileage respectively.  Obviously, in the winter months running dominates, while in the summer months, biking dominates.

I should point out that I competed in a half marathon in early April and a half Iron Man in late June (or was it early July, I can’t remember now), but my biggest mileage boost came when I decided I wanted 4,000 miles!

Yay for totally arbitrary and meaningless life goals accomplished!

Oh I should add that my total for the year in these three sports was 4,017 miles (6,464 km).

2 thoughts on “4,000 plus miles for 2014

  1. Great proof that it pays to have a goal, yes? Complete with graphs and pie charts! I was exhausted just reading about your work. And you are right about swimming, lots more work for fewer miles, but there is such joy in water! You realize that with your miles you traveled more than the distance across the whole United States! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

