Photos from the feeder: Junco edition

I had the opportunity to borrow my friend’s telephoto lens and my friend’s bird feeder and I had a grand old time snapping photos of birds on the feeders in the snow.  I wish I could do this more often!

I took a lot of photos, so I thought I would break this down into bite sized pieces, by bird species (that almost rhymed, I coulda been a poet).

Today, the Dark-eyed Junco (Junco hyemalis), which is a common winter bird here.

DSC_0219

Junco on the feeder (setting the scene for the following play in three acts)

Act 1: Introducing the Bird

DSC_0529

Junco in the snow

DSC_0539
Bold Junco

DSC_0544
I love the detail in the feathers.

Act 2: The Junco hungers

DSC_0545
Nom nom nom

DSC_0549

DSC_0609
I love how the seed is totally airborne

DSC_0610
Keeeerrunch!

DSC_0612

Act 3: The Junco foils the photographer’s plans

DSC_0619
Junco butt part 1

DSC_0625
Junco butt part 2

4 thoughts on “Photos from the feeder: Junco edition

Leave a Reply

