Assertive

I don’t know what made me think of this old story, but I thought I’d share it again, because it always makes me chuckle to remember it.

standingoutinmyfield

NB: There is a pun in the title of this post for those brave enough to find it.  It is a little more crass than my typical word play, but so appropriate.

It is true that I cannot be described as an assertive person.  In fact, I think my personality can be perfectly captured by the fact that I was walking down a path the other day, reading a manuscript, when I accidentally bumped into a tree.  Thinking it was a person, I said rapidly, “Oh my, excuse me, I beg your pardon.”

Then I looked up and, blinking in surprise, I pushed my glasses back up on the bridge of my nose and said, “Oh, I’m so sorry, I thought you were a person.”

Then I blushed, looked around, patted the tree, and kept on walking.

But the best example of my lack of assertiveness comes from a time…

View original post 253 more words

Leave a Reply

