On loving winter

Winter is often a challenge for me.  I love to be outdoors as much as possible, and winter weather often threatens to make that goal challenging, or even impossible.  But a friend pointed out to me last year that I was complaining a lot about winter, and this opened my eyes to my somewhat negative attitude.

Also, I’ve been told that saying things out loud, even if you don’t necessarily believe them, can start to change the way you feel about them. This kind of positive thinking is often recommended as ways of coping with anger and depression, and I thought I would try it out on winter.

My plan was pretty simple (as most of my plans are); instead of actively complaining, I would say only positive things about winter. My plan did not require me to actually feel positive things about winter, just to say them, even if saying them sarcastically was the only thing I could manage.

IMG_8255

These photos are from a post last year called Golden Sunset

My purpose was threefold: 1) make myself easier to get along with during the winter months 2) test out the idea that changing my words can change my mind and 3) make the winter less of a dreaded burden and more of something to look forward to.

This turned out to be more challenging than I had anticipated. In order to say nice things about winter, I had to have some nice things to say! (I did write a list of the virtues of a cold winter last year, but it was insufficient.) So I sat down and drafted a list of the things that are nice about winter…including its beauty, its variety, its refreshing qualities, the way it restarts each new year, the way it makes spring and summer that much more enchanting, the longer nights good for night photography and night hikes, the chance to do fun indoor things, and the way it makes me appreciate warmth so much (the warmth of a hot oven, an electric water heater, a hot shower)…

IMG_8261

And once I had that list, I could start saying nice things. I’m actually surprised at how successful it has been so far…I’ve definitely been appreciating the beauty of winter and the chance to do winter sports more this year. It is, of course, becoming more difficult as the attitudes of those around me have started to become more negative with the temperatures (we’re almost to March and winter remains unrelenting, our city has even run out of road salt!*).

And it doesn’t mean I don’t grit my teeth and bite my tongue when I’m navigating the greasy sludge the cars leave on the side of the road for bikers and runners. But I’m quite pleased with the improvement to my attitude (and my friends seem to appreciate it as well) and I’ve begun to wonder where else I should apply this tactic in my life. Perhaps only saying nice things about my boss….

*Their advice is just to “drive slower”

12 thoughts on “On loving winter

  1. It is surprisingly effective…although I sometimes get accused of being Pollyanna by a certain friend. Still…a long dark winter needs the antidote of a lighter attitude. And maybe some cookies.😊

  2. Nice things about winter . . . my yard gets more sunshine? You can see farther because there are no leaves? The parks are a lot less crowded? I get a chance to wear more clothes, undershirts, shirts, sweaters, shawls, etc. The cats have thicker fur and it is lovely . . . We get different birds in the winter, and they are easier to see. You do appreciate small space heaters that warm your feet. Hmm. I seem to have run out of nice things to say. You have a lot more winter, so you need to think of a LOT more nice things to say about it. I have a hard time and we don’t even have snow or more than a couple of freezes the whole winter. You should come here to visit, it’s turning spring now, the pine trees are pollinating, and the oaks, and the maples are glorious in their seeding! Spring here means it’s coming to you, soon I hope!

    • That’s a great list! It’s hard to imagine spring right now…we’re forecast to have 11 more inches of snow next weekend. I said “11 more inches” and my lab mate said, “Of snow?!” and I said, “No! Chocolate sprinkles!” Hahaha

  3. I love winter, and I’m not saying that sarcastically. If the commute takes longer, I have more time to read on the bus. I spend less time outside, but this gives me more time inside, which is where I write, read, and review the summer’s photographs. I cook a bit more and the food is welcome. I meditate more, which makes me happier all around. The crystalline nature of the snow seems to bring a hush and stillness to the world at times that never happens in spring or summer. The beauty of the trees and vegetation isn’t like the beauty of summer, but it is its own type of beautiful. I know that the trees and perennials are resting in order to burst forth later. I need a rest between bursts too, so I honor their process. I’m not sure you EVER rest, though, so this could affect your appreciation of this aspect of winter.

  4. A great post! I do this too and find it very helpful. Today in upstate New York it went above freezing, briefly, for the first time in weeks. It felt relatively balmy and put a spring in my step. The stark beauty of the landscape, the constant activity around my bird feeders, the animal tracks in the snow all buoy my spirits. Haven’t yet found a way around the tease of March–other than a trip south. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

