Short Eared Owls (and Northern Harriers, and a Snowy Owl)

The other day, I received a notice that someone had seen a snowy owl about 45 minutes away. That evening, after work, a friend and I peeled out in search of the owl.  I hadn’t seen one since the previous winter, and I was excited (and pretty annoying, I’m afraid).  My friend, luckily, has angelic patience and was able to tolerate me shouting in his ear, “Over there!” and “Follow that bird!” as he drove his poor old car around in circles on gravel and over snow banks.  (Also, “SQUEE!” when we saw a bird.)

Well, this is the only view of the snowy we got…

DSC_0431

Luckily, the internet is full of beautiful photos of those guys. 🙂

But! We were rewarded by the swooping antics of two short-eared owls. They were quite spectacular and we returned the following evening to admire them again.  On the second night, they were joined by two northern harriers (and a gorgeous sunset). I didn’t get any great photos, but I thought I would share what I did get, just because I am SO excited about these birds. 🙂

DSC_0469
Short eared owl catching prey…

DSC_0471
And flying…

DSC_0476
One of my best SE Owl photos.

DSC_0489
Against the Lake.

DSC_0482
Beautiful skies.

DSC_0494
I believe this is two SE owls and a Northern Harrier. They were all swooping around together…incredible!

DSC_0498
Northern Harrier…a life bird!

DSC_0499
My best photo of the Harriers, sadly.

DSC_0503
SE owl in the dusk.

DSC_0505 (2)
In the sunset

DSC_0518
This cute little guy perched here for the better part of an hour, chirping periodically. I like the deer too…”what’s all the fuss about?”

DSC_0442
There were a TON of deer. My friend counted 64 in one corner of the field.

DSC_0524
Most of the time, he kept his back to us, though.

DSC_0526
Golden sunset.

DSC_0541

DSC_0450
Have to finish with the SE Owls.

DSC_0451
Sorry the photos aren’t better! I just get excited by cool birds.

2 thoughts on “Short Eared Owls (and Northern Harriers, and a Snowy Owl)

Leave a Reply

